Stepping into social media, one toe at a time.

I realized today that I am cracking down and getting serious about my writing. I was up until one thirty this morning pinning images and writing a summary of a novel that is probably the first in a series. I haven’t fleshed out the rest of it yet, but as soon as I finish this post, you know what I’ll be doing. 

Sometime between now and the time I went to bed, I decided to try to revive my social media presence. You know what they say: “writers, start building a platform now! It doesn’t matter that you have nothing written!” I had previously decided not to worry social media until I was at least halfway through a novel, but I guess I’ve changed my mind. I joined Google + (though I have no posts yet.) I reorganized my Pinterest. I started to schedule tweets for my Twitter. Perhaps, when the time comes, I may find it necessary to extend my reach to Facebook, if I end up writing YA, and Goodreads. For now, though, I’m happy with my neat little corner of the web. 

Next comes my big problem: I have never been good at reaching out to people and creating relationships. It’s a reason I have relatively few people I call friends. Networking is seriously hard for me, even over the internet, where anonymity and casual chit-chat is the name of the game. I have met a few writers in my age group on the Go Teen Writer’s group, but I have terrible anxieties about connecting with many of them. And don’t get me started on the adult writing groups! Oy.

I guess what I need to do is just say something; anything! Or, well, anything that would be related to writing. 

Do/did you have anxieties about connecting with people? How did you overcome them? If not, do you have any advice you can spare? 

One thought on “Stepping into social media, one toe at a time.

  1. I feel your pain. I love blogging, but other social media stuff does not come easily to me. I feel like it’s an uphill battle trying to get new followers and get noticed. Example: I have 73 Twitter followers after like 5 months on Twitter. I’ll catch up to John Green aaaaany day now 🙂

Leave a Reply

